Early Land Cruisers All solid front axles and Land Cruiser series - 25, 40, 45, 55, 60, 62, and 80

instructions to remove carb on fj60

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2012, 07:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
instructions to remove carb on fj60

Howdy, I've had this '87 cruiser for over 15 years but beyond basic maintenance I'm a newbie working on this stock 2F engine. I need to remove carb for rebuild... how do you get to the inside back nut that holds carb to the intake?!? What needs to come off of the engine to be able to reach it? I can barely even find it with a flashlight sprawled across the top the engine. It looks like the entire hood has to be removed; please tell me it ain't so!
Old 02-15-2012, 08:00 PM

Do you have a manual? The one on my 40 wasn't to hard, can't imagine that one being much different. Take some pics with the camera pointed blindly at its appro location, might take a couple to see what you need to see but it has worked in the past for me.
Old 02-19-2012, 09:21 AM

Actually it is a bit different, engine compartment much harder to reach things, and more smog crap. I have 2f engine manual but it doesn't deal with removal & install, just rebuild. Local mechanic just grinned and said"lots" has to come off to reach carb. Car is outside and weather dodgy, I just want an idea of what I'm in for before I open a can of worms
Old 02-24-2012, 01:39 AM

special tools!

Originally Posted by dabeastherder
Howdy, I've had this '87 cruiser for over 15 years but beyond basic maintenance I'm a newbie working on this stock 2F engine. I need to remove carb for rebuild... how do you get to the inside back nut that holds carb to the intake?!? What needs to come off of the engine to be able to reach it? I can barely even find it with a flashlight sprawled across the top the engine. It looks like the entire hood has to be removed; please tell me it ain't so!
I have done it a couple times, my last one was las spring so forgive me if I forget something.