Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Who's dropped their transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2008, 07:20 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Who's dropped their transmission?

I've been reading about dropping the transmission to gain access to the rear main oil seal. It doesn't LOOK that hard reading the FSM, but, I've never done it on a vehicle before.

They don't mention any needed tools besides a Transmission Jack, but, is there any special equipment that I would need to gain access to the rear main oil seal?
Old 02-12-2008, 07:24 AM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Dropping the tranny sucks. At least dropping the A340H sucks. It is long and has a very uneven weight distribution.

When taking it out dont forget all the cooling lines and electrical lines that are need to be taken out/undone. Plus your 4Runner sitting on 35s and that much lift isnt going to be fun either.

We pulled the A340H out of my 4Runner on 33s and the A340H out my bros 4Runner on 37s and his was by far much scarier.

The rear main seal i believe is very easy to change.
Old 02-12-2008, 07:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto or manual? At any rate the top 2 bolts can be a pain to reach - get some long extensions and a wobble extension and u-joint help a lot with those weird angles. Get 2 buddies - one to help you guide the beast down while its on the jack and the other guy to operate the jack for you. Its a lot safer that way.
Old 02-12-2008, 07:54 AM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Harbor Freight sells a tranny adapter that fits on most standard floor jacks. It's not the best quality, but will help a lot with the job.

For me, the hardest thing to do is getting the input splines on the tranny to line up with the motor. I have only messed around with a R150 though... but it had dual cases hanging off the back.
Old 02-12-2008, 08:11 AM
Contributing Member