Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

What are the best products to use?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2005, 02:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey gang,

Newbie here and i need some info on how to best take care of my 2002 4-Runner - Limited Edition (4-runner has approx. 39k.)

Best motor oil & filters? (i am currently using Toyota filters & motor oil 5w-30)
Best tranny fluid? (i've heard Royal Purple is a good)
Best Diffy fluid? (Royal Purple?)
Best tires to use?
Best air filter? (a filter better than stock but not quite K&N level)
Best spark-plugs?
Best coolant? (currently using Toyota stock coolant)

That's all i can think of for now. I am also looking to purchase the auto repair manual. Any good online Toyota parts websites that anyone can recommend?
All help and advice much appreciated!

cheers.
Old 01-13-2005, 03:18 PM
Contributing Member

Welcome, Noob!!!

Before anyone flames you, you might want to hit the search button.

Otherwise, there's an argument for each question. I have a '96 4Runner with 149,000. I use an oversized Wix filter (#51512) and Mobil 1. I switched to synthetic at 110,000 miles. No leaks. No problems.

Best tranny fluid? Once again, I use Mobil 1. But others here swear by Amsoil.

Best diff fluid? Again, I use Mobil 1. And again, other swear by Amsoil.

Best tires? What do you want to do? Off-road? Street? Long trips?

Best air filter? I recently switched from a K&N drop-in to an aFe drop-in. No difference in power. But I hear they filter better and I have a friend who sells them.

Best spark plugs? NGK hands down. Avoid Bosch +4s like the plague.

Best coolant? Toyota hands down. But don't mix red and green.

Anything else?
Old 01-13-2005, 04:20 PM