Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

timing belt change - factory timing is 15deg off??

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
timing belt change - factory timing is 15deg off??

Hi, Im new here, and Im not a mechanical guru, so please bear with me.

I've got an old '98 tacoma v6 w/ 126k miles that Im about to attempt a timing belt change on. Now that Ive gotten the timing covers off, Im seeing that cam marks are off by a bit, and only line up with the backplate marks when the crank pulley is set to '15 degrees btdc?' on the timing indicator. The FSM says that the timing should be set based on the marks/indicators on the engine, and from what I understand, timing belts dont stretch, so there's no way my timing could have slowly changed over time, right? it either had to have come that way from the factory, or have been altered by the stealership at some point, correct? (the truck was never serviced by anyone other than toyota)

background: I bought the truck new (in southern california) & had the 1st gen TRD supercharger installed by the stealership soon after (I did this to maintain the 60k warranty at the time, since the truck was new...now I wish I would have just installed it myself). Pretty soon after that, I was forced to move & get another car, and so the truck ended up being handed off to a younger (female) relative for a few years (who, btw, did a horrible job of caring for & maintaining it), before it ended up being parked/"pno'd" for another few years. Now, 10+ years later, the truck is back in my possession, so my goal is to fix it up. The first step has been to remove the TRD SC & do the timing belt change in one shot, which is what Im in the process of doing...