Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

Seat Belt Replacement

Old 06-17-2010, 09:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Seat Belt Replacement

My dog chewed through my front passenger seatbelt on my '99 4runner ltd. Are there any tips, or things I should know about before I take the old one apart and install a new one? I have never done this before so I do not know what I'm getting myself into.

Also, I found a belt from a '99 SR5 at the wreckers for 135 since the dealer wants 290 for it. Are the belts interchangeable?

Thanks.
Old 06-17-2010, 12:24 PM

I did my driver's belt when I first got my 4 runner in 06 and it was not a bad job at all. Just remove the seat, then the panel, and then all there is are a couple of bolts. Take note before you remove it on how it is threaded though the front shoulder adjuster.

Forget the dealer. Go to www.toyotapartszone.com and type in your VIN. Then look under Body in the Section and you will see seat belts. It should cost around $162 with the correct belt color.

If shipping into Canada is too much, then yes, I think the belts are interchangable. No reason why they should not be.

Bad dog......
Old 06-17-2010, 01:10 PM

Thanks.

That is a good site, unfortunately it only ships within US. Looks like I may be off to the wrecker's.

Does anybody know of any online dealers that ship to Canada. I usually use autopartsway.ca. Seems like the seat belt is hard to find (probably why the dealer charges so much. My price quote was with a discount too.)

Last edited by Canadian Bacon; 06-17-2010 at 01:14 PM.
Old 06-17-2010, 03:38 PM

Try 1sttoyotaparts.com. Good folks also to buy from. They are located in Tacoma, WA so they may be able to get you the seat belt to you without five miles of red tape. Give them a call or shoot them an email.