Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Removing Cylinder Heads - 5vz

Old 02-17-2008, 07:04 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Removing Cylinder Heads - 5vz

I broke a rod in my 99 5vz 4runner and finally recieved my used donor motor last week. I took of the valve covers and upper intake plenum on the new engine to look at the condition and found that they were covered in dark oil residue and the intake and exhaust chambers were very dirty. I did the same on my motor with the broken rod and they are very clean and look like new.

I think I am going to swap out the top end of my old engine and put it on the new bottom end. This way I will also be able to clean the pistons on the new engine. I have never done this before though but after reading through the FSM, it doesn't look too bad. For anyone who has done this, is there any thing I need to watch out for? Is there any tricks to getting the cams out and keeping the timing marks lined up? Is this harder than it looks??

Thanks...
Old 02-17-2008, 08:05 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Easy way to do it, make sure you keep the cams, caps and everything on the same side, same locations. Make a mark with white out on both cams to make it easy on yourself on how they fit together. Make sure you put a 6mm bolt through the sissor gear on the loaded cam BEFORE you take them out. There is on threaded hole that goes all the way through the gear. That way it wont unwind on you and will stay the same when you put it back together. Just make sure to take the bolt out after you are done putting it back together.
Old 02-18-2008, 05:27 AM
Contributing Member

It's in my thread right here, pics and all:
http://www.ultimateyota.com/index.ph...6&topic=2241.0