Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

newbie here... please help with fr. grille removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2003, 09:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question newbie here... please help with fr. grille removal

hi everyone.. long time runner lover, first time visitor, and i love it here already!
i bit about myself... i have a 1995 4runner v6 sr5 "limited package" bought new in oct/94. love the truck so much, its still my daily driver. it currently has 114 km (i'm from canada) and its in remarkable condition considering its age. its amazing (believe it or not, i actually have people approach me in parking lots to talk about my truck).. its so dependable, so capable, there is no need to switch it -yet (i have to be honest, i almost did a couple of months ago for an 03 v6 limited, but backed off after the dealer offered a ridiculous trade value for my exiting truck.. one day, but not now)
anyway, my headlights are too dim, and i want to try switching the bulbs. i have a new set of piaa platinum super whites lying around, and want to give them a go. (not sure how much difference it'll make but its gotta be better than the yellowy "dimlights" i have now.. if not, I will try the silverStars)... the owner's manual instucts to first remove the corner markers, then remove the front grill. the front grill appears to be held in place with 6 clips on the top, then 5 clips below. the bottom clips seems easy to unclip.. just press down. the top clips however i cant seem to figure out. the manual says press down, but where/how? for fear of breaking the clips, i gave up, and humbly ask you...

questions:
(1) whats the easiest way to unclip the upper clips?
(2) whats the ideal order to remove the grill... in other words, is it better to unclip the top clips first, or better to work from one side to the other (both top and bottom)?