Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Just got the timing belt replaced... (MPG's)

Old 01-03-2008, 12:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just got the timing belt replaced... (MPG's)

I did a quick search and didn't find anything about this, so I decided I'd share...

I got my timing belt and water pump replaced today, and the mechanic found that my crankshaft sprocket was missing a tooth, thus causing it to have two gaps in it instead of one.

I'm no expert, but this is how he explained it: He said that the engine uses that gap so that it knows what position the crankshaft is in, which affects how the engine fires and what not, so he said that now that I replaced that defective sprocket my engine should run much smoother and much better in general.

My engine was running fine, but it got me thinking, about 3-4 months ago my gas mileage plummeted, and I couldn't exactly pinpoint why. I asked him if that would affect the mileage and he said it definitely would.

I just filled up today and we'll see how much it really affects it.

On a very positive note, I did notice that my engine is smoother and has a bit more pep to it
Old 01-03-2008, 04:05 AM

how many miles on the truck
Old 01-03-2008, 04:07 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The old, and streached belt, retarded the cam to crank timing which resulted in a decrease in performance and some mileage. The missing tooth would have no affect. The new belt restores the cam to crank alignment and will improve performance and mileage....some.
Old 01-03-2008, 09:13 AM

Originally Posted by mkgarrison5
how many miles on the truck
Well it had the first timing belt replaced at around 90,000 miles... and I just replaced that one now that it has 152,000.
Old 01-03-2008, 09:33 AM

maybe it was the missing tooth that helped you out who knows? or maybe they didnt really replace the old timing belt. lol
Old 01-05-2008, 01:06 PM

Originally Posted by SEAIRESCUE