Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Intermittent compression issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2012, 11:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Intermittent compression issues

I am a newbie to car mechanics, so please forgive my lack of proper terminology.

I have a 1999 Toyota 4runner SR5 v6 4WD. 249000 miles. My 3rd cylinder has been misfiring on warm starts only. (It does not happen if I let it sit for more than 90 minutes after driving it).

I took it to the local Toyota dealer after it the check engine light starting occasionally flashing on an off. They told me it was a bad engine coil and I should replace the spark plug. So I had them replace both.
The next day the misfires starting happening again, so I took it back to Toyota. They tested the compression, and said I had low compression in cylinder 3. They also did a leak test on the cylinder and said it was not leaking.
I asked them why it was only occasionally misfiring, they said my engine was slowly dying, and I would have to rebuild or buy a new one to fix it.

Does this sound right?

Thanks,
Old 11-24-2012, 12:28 PM

Check for hydrocarbons in the coolant with a block tester, NAPA still sells them i believe. Toyota designed the 22re with only 10 bolts for the head, arranged like this :o:o:o:o: , which forces #2 and #3 cylinders to share the six bolts in the center. Stretched bolts and a leaking head gasket are the result. Testing for Hydrocarbons in the coolant is the fastest way to check for a leaking head gasket. Im not saying that this is the exact problem, but with 249k miles it's worth checking. Best of luck man.
Old 11-24-2012, 01:37 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by MacusWayne
Toyota designed the 22re.....
Macus, the OPs 1999 v6 is certainly not a 22re. Geesh.

OP, are you using any coolant or oil? How does the coolant and oil look?
Old 11-24-2012, 02:37 PM

@rworegon-