Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Help!! Basic questions for rusted exhaust system

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2008, 06:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help!! Basic questions for rusted exhaust system

Hello

Consider I am a newbie in muffler/cat division although I have quite amount of engine work experience myself. Each time I touch exhaust, I just mess it up...
Anyways.......

Yesterday, while doing regular maintenance (engine oil change, tranny oil change, greasing this and that for 97 4Runner SR5 4WD Auto 130k miles), it came to my attention that, muffler got "holes!!" and the braket that holds (between cat and mulffler) was completely rusted and only dangling by the rubber piece only. Wow!!! Michigan salt... Now, please allow me to ask the following "rather" basic questions. I searched the forums, but most of topics are rather too advanced for me?

1. I would like to avoid "oem" muffler/exhaust system mainly because of $$$. Can anyone recommend good aftermarket alternative muffler/tailpipe etc at reasonable cost?

2. Should I go with stainless steel or regular? Yes, it is Michigan here!

3. Which one is better option? Buying a muffler from web and bring that to local muffler shop? or have the muffler shop do the part search and job all by themselves?

4. I am in South East Michigan area. If any member here lives in near-by, any recommended muffler shop in SE Michigan area?

5. By the way, I also noticed that each time starting engine, I smell the very toxic chemical. After running a while, the smell is gone. Would that "punctured" muffler be the reason? or does it mean my cat (or something else) is dying also? No code at all for now...

Thank you in advance.
Old 09-02-2008, 06:22 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts