Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Help with Automatic Disconnecting Differential?

Old 02-09-2005, 12:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Automatic Disconnecting Differential?

I did a search on this and found no returns so thought I would start a new thread on the subject.

Just bought a 1999 4Runner SR5 and after reading a few things in the owner's manual I am now wondering if my truck has ADD (automatic disconnecting diffential) or not. Do all 1999's have this and if not, how can I tell if my truck has it or not? Furthermore, what is it and what are the pros and cons of it? Please bear with me as I am new to this whole 4WD thing. I am coming from full-time 4WD and AWD vehicles such as Subaru's and need a little advice on this part-time 4WD thing.

Also, I know that my truck has a locking rear differential but am not sure as to when this is needed. Sounds like, from what I have read on other threads in this forum, that it is used only in 4L and when the truck is off-kilter to where on rear tire is in the air. Am I getting that right?
Old 02-09-2005, 12:47 PM
Contributing Member

yeah, you've got ADD. or rather, the truck does. i think so anyway.

the rear locker will come in handy in low traction situatins. you've got the right idea on when to use it (when a rear tire is off the ground or spinning). it'll vastly improve traction and may just help you up that hill/unstuck. wheelspin=bad.

Last edited by calrockx; 02-09-2005 at 01:35 PM.
Old 02-09-2005, 12:58 PM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by switchback
I did a search on this and found no returns so thought I would start a new thread on the subject.