Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

First buy for a New toyota guy.

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2017, 06:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First buy for a New toyota guy.

Hi there, I am extremely new to the Toyota game. I have been a jeep guy for a long time and finally decided to stop buying rusted and raped XJs/ZJs here in New England, and come over to the jdm side.

im looking to buy a 4runner (3rd gen) and I've done a little bit of research and i know i want the 3.4L V6 for its the "better" motor for my wheeling needs.

i just wonder what are some problems with 4runners and the 3.4. Also if sr5 is worth actually getting since i plan on puttint new suspension in it.

if anyone can tell me info on anything or send me a link to a post that answers my questions exactly I'd truly appreciate it.
Old 03-17-2017, 06:26 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
I don't know as much about 4Runners as you, probably, but my experience with Toyotas is that SR5 is simply a trim package, nothing more. So suspension wouldn't be a part of it. It typically just means chrome, maybe some nice wood paneling inside, full instrument panel, etc. With the trucks anyways, only packages like TRD would affect something like suspension. Otherwise SR5 is typically just a cosmetic package.

From what I've read and my personal experience, there really aren't any problems with the 3.4. Toyota engines are really very problem free, and the 3.4 seems to be impressive even by Toyota standards. Mine has 208,000 miles currently, with only routine maintenance, and drives great with great power. Take into account that the power statement is coming from a guy who's only had little 4 cylinder engines up to this point...
Old 03-17-2017, 06:28 AM

Received 184 Likes on 132 Posts