Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Expedition Rig Advice, 2.7L or 3.4L Tacoma, or 3.4L 4Runner?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2013, 06:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hoping to hear from those of you with real world experience with Tacomas or 4Runners, and those of you who have built them for middle of nowhere roads.

It is time for me to purchase a new Toyota (new to me) and build it for expedition use here in Wyoming. I know what you're thinking, "who goes on expeditions?", but in fact I do and must. I am a geologist and need access to seriously remote areas where a broken rig can be a multiple day walk. I need utter reliability, some fuel economy, and good clearance. I travel with the wife and dog, plus a week or two of gear at a time. I should say that an average trip may have a few hundred miles of highway, with a couple hundred of dirt, and a dozen or so of the worst possible roads (like 8 miles in two hours type roads).

I am considering and need input on a Tacoma xt. cab, pre-2005 with the 2.7L or maybe the 3.4L, or a 99-2004 4Runner with the 3.4L. I want to run a 265/75 (32") or a 285 (33") I don't mind regearing to get some mpgs back. A rear locker would also be good. Would like 18mpg or better. What do you think?

What would you recommend? and thanks for your time and advice!

Some background of my past expedition rigs for perspective:
I had an 87 yota pickup, but passed it on after 287K miles, then I killed a Jeep XJ on those roads, but it had ok fuel economy while it lasted (4 expensive years), so last year I got a Mitsubishi Montero SR with rear locker, front limited slip, 32" Hankook MTs, etc..., but it gets 14mpg on the best day and less than 6mpg on the trail! Plus it's an automatic, so it's out of here.

Last edited by Wyota; 03-05-2013 at 06:31 AM.
Old 03-05-2013, 08:14 AM