Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Electrical help

Old 01-06-2005, 01:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Electrical help

I have a '94 4runner with various different mods to it and am now in need of some electrical advice
There is a 70amp battery on my truck
Here is a list of "extras" I have added

2 x Front Spot lights (55watt bulbs in each)
2 x Front fog lights (55watt bulbs in each)
2 x rear red marker lights (10watt bulbs in each)
2 x Rear fog lights (the single in the tail gate has been diconnected) (21watt bulbs in each)
4 x strobe lights (these are low power types - uses a 10amp fuse)
1 x mag mount emergency strobe - (I'm a Paramedic Officer and I medic at Rallies, Off-Road events etc) - I have this running througha 20 amp fuse)

Stereo
2 amps

I would like to add a second battery and split charge it but the current (excuse the pun ) alternator is a 60amp type. Will it be feasible to run a second battery or not and has anyone done it???
Where did you put it (polite answers only please )
Old 01-06-2005, 06:54 PM

Rusty,

IMO, the first thing to do is to upgrade your alternator. No matter how many batteries you end up with, if you use more than the alternator can give, sooner or later you'll get stuck with a dead battery.

Here is a link to a paper describing the decisions I made in terms of upgrading my alternator for my '85 Toy 4Runner:

http://www.rocketcityrockcrawlers.co...lt_Upgrade.htm

While this is an '85 with the 22RE engine and not close to your application, it should give you some ideas. I found that direct replacement high output alternators for Toys go for +$210 and up. I was able to make a GM 140 amp alternator work in my Toy.

I hope this helps.

Al
Old 01-06-2005, 10:43 PM

Cheers Al,

Excellent tech write up,

The ambulance service's auto- electrician had said I would need to upgrade the alternator but I was trying to see whether I could use what I've got. oh well nice try