Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Easy question for you guys

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2004, 01:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Easy question for you guys

I'm still a bit new to Yota truck's, and I have the same rear sagging problem that just about every 2nd gen 4Runner/Pickup has. And from what I hear, the add a leaf is the easiest/cheapest way to go.

I've searched for that, but could not find what I wanted to know, which is...

How much should everything cost with labor at a average shop?

And if there will be a noticeable difference?

Thank's in advance
Old 01-11-2004, 03:19 PM

Call a 4x4 shop and ask for an estimate. It should take about an hour for them to put in a new set of coils (or leaves) and most places charge about $60 an hour.

I thought that all second gen tacos and runners had coils instead of leaves but I could be wrong. It should be pretty easy to see what you've got and go from there. I'd expect to pay about $90 for a new set of coils and maybe 120 for leaves (plus the labor). Air shocks are also supposedly a solution to this problem, but it seems like there's some people that love them and some that hate them so you'll have to research it.

For this extremely valuable information I expect you to give me your 240SX as compensation.

-Keith
Old 01-11-2004, 03:22 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally posted by breakerfalls
I thought that all second gen tacos and runners had coils instead of leaves but I could be wrong.
those are 3rd generations. What you and I have is what's referred to as a second generation toyota. pickups have leafs and runners have coils. you can just get your existing leafs rearched as well. not sure of the cost since i've never had it done.
Old 01-11-2004, 04:40 PM

Actually sizzle, you and juggalo have 3rd gens. My truck is a 2nd gen.