Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Do it yourself gearing/locker install help

Old 04-05-2010, 03:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do it yourself gearing/locker install help

So now that im on 35s I want to regear, and add a locker or two while im at it. I was looking on the arb site and they say its a "do it yourself project" I really wasnt even going to consider doing it but watching the video on their site doesnt look too bad, even easier if I just got a elocker for the rear and regeared it. I am an apprentice mechanic but know nothing about differential gearing yet. Has anyone done this and thinks it really would be a do it yourself project. Im guessing setting the backlash is the biggest deal?
Old 04-06-2010, 03:23 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Just installing a locker your backlash is your biggest concern. With regearing you have to worry about gear pattern, pre load, and backlash. If you don't know what your doing don't do it.

So re-gearing is something i'd let the experts do. You don't wanna learn to set up a diff thats your diff your depending on.

Also go 5.29s and stay away from arb or the elocker. They both will let you down at some point.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:22 AM

DSMahon did his own gear setup, I would shoot him a pm about it. You'll need some extra tools, a lot of time, and even more patience, with all that, it is doable.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:37 AM

I been thinking about doing this same project, if ya do go ahead with this please document and post. Would like to see the outcome. Subscribed.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:45 AM

do it, do not be afraid to learn like allot of other people.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:46 AM