Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

CV boot or Joint

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 07:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CV boot or Joint

Ok,
I did a search on this topic so I have some information on this topic but would like to get some feed back from you guys. Looking at my truck last night, trying to determine if I should do the 4Crawler BJ spacers which I was starting to lean on the side of doing it and the diff drop to prevent and, I found a tear, only about an inch or 2, in my passenger side CV boot. I believe there is an inner and an outer (noob here so correct me if I am wrong), I tore the inner one. Truck is stock and since I have had it for the past year, bought it from the first owner who only used 4WD when they went up to the snow. There was a little grease under the tear so I assume the tear is fairly recent and about 99% confident minimal dirt or other materials got into it. I have not noticed any clicking yet so I assume CV joint is still in good shape. I have only engage 4WD once, about 10 months ago, to see if it work and only went about 30 feet or so, I don’t do any off roading, well not yet anyway. I’m thinking of just replacing the boot with the oem boot kit, since the boot looks like it just tore recently and shouldn’t have any foreign particles in it and the minimal off roading I do. Truck is an 89, 4WD, V6, 5SPD, regular cab, long bed, stock manual locking hubs, and I’m having the dealer perform the relay rod recall tomorrow morning, so I going to get a quote today on the cost of the boot kit (which I read is around $30-$40) and labor to install. So what are you thoughts on just replacing the CV boot with oem???? Thanks in advance for your comments.
Old 11-18-2005, 08:15 AM