Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

coolent flush?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2006, 02:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
coolent flush?

It's 60K changed oil and plugs now coolent. Do you guys just replace or flush then replace? If you flush should I just use water or some kind of cleaner/detergent?
I've never done this before but I don't want to pay when it looks pretty easy from what I have read. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 05-01-2006, 02:38 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just used a water hose and sprayed it through the coolant hoses. Unless you had some gummed stuff in it I wouldn't really worry too much about using a solvent for it.
Old 05-01-2006, 02:42 PM
Contributing Member

How do you guys collect the flushed fluid?
Old 05-01-2006, 03:10 PM

It might be illegal...but I drain mine into a pan, and dump it down the drain. Then, I open up the top, and the bottom plug, run the car with the heater on, and let it flush out right into the street. I figure it's almost 100% water, and rust/deposits, so it's not too environmentally un-friendly.
Brett
Old 05-01-2006, 03:23 PM
Contributing Member

Okay quick search on the internet says this... collect what you can to take to a proper recycling location. Whatever is left needs to be drained with plenty of water into a drain. There was one note about just draining it all and chasing it with a lot of water but that's just unethical.
Old 05-01-2006, 04:07 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Tacoma Dude
How do you guys collect the flushed fluid?