Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Claiming Wheeling whoopsies on insurance

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2004, 03:00 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Claiming Wheeling whoopsies on insurance

So who's done it? I have been paying for full coverage insurance for 3 years on a paid for truck since it's my pride and joy. This summer I took out both doors on one side on a tree and recently I put a couple nice grooves in my paint that aren 't buffing out. I have a $500 deductable but the damage to the doors was estimated at $1800. I would like to claim this and get the dents fixed and get a new paint job. So here are my questions. What will they say when you tell them you were wheeling? Will they ask me why I didn't report it as an accident or anything like that? I'm assuming that I will be at fault right? What will this do to my premium? Also if I claim it will they pay to have my whole rig painted or only the damaged portions? I turn 25 in 4 months should I wait till then? Anybody with any experience on this please chime in. Oh ya and I'm a pretty ethical person so I'm not going to tell my insurance company it was a hit and run or a deer ran out and hit me so don't go there.
Thanks
UK
Old 12-22-2004, 03:19 PM
Contributing Member

not really sure what to say, other than buck up and do it right. insurance may not cover it and the possibility is there that they could recind coverage.

lee
Old 12-22-2004, 03:56 PM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by UKMyers
Oh ya and I'm a pretty ethical person so I'm not going to tell my insurance company it was a hit and run or a deer ran out and hit me so don't go there.
Thanks
UK

Sorry I have nothing to add that you're looking for. I just wanted to say good for you! I'm sick and tired of reading posts where people are trying to cheat the system or get away scott-free of responsibility.

You're a good man UK
Old 12-22-2004, 03:58 PM