Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Car Audio Question

Old 06-08-2003, 05:14 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car Audio Question

I'm new to the whole car audio thing and have a question. On my head unit it has RCA pre-outs. Do you have to treat pre-out differently or can you just hook them up to the speakers. I'm planning on getting infinity kappas to replace the factory speakers. I'm planning on putting 42.5is up front and 60.5cs in the back and running the tweeter up to the factory location (I have the factory 6 speaker system). Anything I have to be careful of when installing the speakers? Any advice? Cable recommendations? Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Old 06-08-2003, 05:42 PM
Contributing Member

I did my audio a while back but if I do remember correctly, those pre-outs are supposed to be for the amplifier. You'd then connect the speaker wires to the amp. I'm assuming you have an aftermarket hu. If this is the case, don't rely on the onboard amp. get an amp just for the speakers. they sound better and a lot cleaner too. Oh, get the component kappas, they sound great.
For the cables, I'm currently using monster cable, only because a friend of mine got it at a pretty good price at bestbuy.
If you have the time, go to www.ssaudio.com. They are really helpful. http://forums.caraudio.com/vb/ so is this siteGood Luck.
Pat

Last edited by BeBeBloo; 06-08-2003 at 06:49 PM.
Old 06-08-2003, 05:46 PM
DuB

The RCAs are meant to go to an aftermarket amp. Speaker wires go from the aftermarket amp to the speakers. Unless your headunits is a top-of-the-line unit, it should also have an internal amp that has outputs for speakers. The wire harness that you buy to wire up your headunit should have a plug that plugs in after the factory amp; ie, take the factory amp out, and it should also have a second wire harness included that plugs into the factory speaker wire harness.