Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Can someone explain the reason for re-gearing?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2005, 09:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can someone explain the reason for re-gearing?

I'm a newb, but trying to understand the reason for re-gearing (i.e. going to 4.88 gears?)

Is it so you don't have to use your brakes on steep hill decents (lower gears creep forward slowly?)

Is it because of bigger tires?

What are the over all changes from going from the stock gears (whatever those are on a 3rd gen 4Runner), to 4.88? On normal driving?, stop & go, off-roading, etc?

What does re-gearing entail? Just install new gears in the axles ? or adding a shifter to the cab?

Thnx!

Old 04-13-2005, 09:34 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the board!!! The main reason for regearing your rig is to gain back lost power from adding bigger tires. Example, if you go to 33 inch shoes, you would need to regear to 4.88s to bring back the stock power level. If you go from stock gears to 4.88s and don't get bigger tires, you will notice a large improvement in torque and acceleration, but you won't be able to cruise as fast. On the contrary, if you get bigger tires and keep stock gears, your rig will have less acceleration, but will turn lower RPMs on the highway. Idealically, you should notice no difference when going to bigger tires if you re-gear properly. Regearing involves taking the old ring and pinion out and putting new ones in. It's not something a novice should try, as you have to set the gears to precise tolerances for them to last. You don't need an extra shifter or anything like that, you're just taking out the old and putting the new, lower gears in the same spot. Re-gearing will probably run you in the neighborhood of $700-$1000 dollars, depending on labor costs. This includes two new sets of gears, master install kit, and labor. At least that's the price I've been quoted. Hope this helps.