Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Building an Expedition Vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2004, 06:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Building an Expedition Vehicle

Hello,

I've been lurking around for a little and decided to post up.

I am selling my Rover and buying an early 90s Toyota 4cyl pickup that I would like to turn into a nice little expedition Vehicle.

I am planning on getting the following:

Bucket Seats
Can Bak Top
All Pro Bumpers
Sliders
33x10.50 MTs
OME Lift
Yakima Rack
5.29 Gears
ARBS (In The Far Future)
And a CD/Mp3 player

I haven't been able to find much on these ealier trucks, what do I need to run 33x10.50s? Do I even need a lift? Also I've heard about some IFS travel kits but can only find limited information on companies that don't exist anymore.

Thanks
Justin
Old 08-06-2004, 08:08 AM
Contributing Member

Welcome to the forum, Justin.

I'm no expert on this year of truck, but I you would need some amount of lift to clear 33s. Try searching on here for ball joint spacers, there should be a few good threads abou tthem and how they work to improve things up front. That should be a good starting point. Good luck!
Old 08-06-2004, 10:12 AM
Contributing Member

If you are planning an expedition style truck, I would be careful about using an early 90's model unless you are very mechanically proficient and can go through it really well or have the means to do repairs on the trail. The reason I say this is because reliability and failure of components are of the utmost importance when you are out in the middle of nowhere. Toyota stuff seems to last forever, but just make sure that what you get isn't going to be a can of worms in the reliability department. Age and abuse can yield some nagging nickel/dime ailments that can be a pain in the butt when you are trying to do a long trip.