Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Bought a new truck, couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2011, 03:53 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Bought a new truck, couple questions

Yesterday I picked up a 2002 Tacoma TRD, they were asking 12K I paid 8K.

It has the following options,

-Diff locker
-3.4L 5VZE
-XCab
-5spd
-TRD Package
-4x4
-Power everything
-K&N Intake
-112,XXX miles
-Borla Exhaust.

It was involved in one accident which was not repaired (the rear bumper got bent a little) so I will be replacing the bumper with a Trail-Gear most likely.

But since i'm new to these Tacomas I have a few questions;

-How much oil does the 5VZE take? I am seeing 5.8qts.

-I need to replace the brakes, is there an upgrade I should do while i'm at it? Edit: Found the Tundra upgrade.

I appreciate any tips/advice you guys can give me, as i will be searching too.

I will try and get pics up soon!

-Thanks, Brian

Last edited by Swimmerboy2112; 11-20-2011 at 04:05 AM.
Old 11-20-2011, 04:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I dont know much about tacomas either but... score! I have heard/read that these engines are very powerful and it will be sweet not to have torsion bars. Looking forward to see what you do to it...
Old 11-20-2011, 04:02 AM

I want a factory diff. lock
Old 11-20-2011, 04:04 AM

Originally Posted by sc87yota
I dont know much about tacomas either but... score! I have heard/read that these engines are very powerful and it will be sweet not to have torsion bars. Looking forward to see what you do to it...
Yeah i'll say this, it feels like a rocket ship compared to my 86' 4Runner! lol

haha it was funny the first time I looked under the truck at the front end parts i was like woah! it has coils up front!
Old 11-20-2011, 04:05 AM

I want a factory diff. lock
I have yet to test it, but i'm sure it will be nice.
Old 11-20-2011, 05:23 AM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
No pics. FAIL.

:wabbit2: