Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Bay Area Mechanics? Starter Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 08:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bay Area Mechanics? Starter Rebuild

Hey guys, I need to get my starter pulled so I can replace the Contacts/brushes in my starter. I was wondering if there is anyone here in the bay area who could pull this out for me and take care of this. I am just afraid that the Dealer would charge an arm and a leg for this type of work. I live on the peninsula, in the Palo Alto area. Or if someone could help me out I will provide Beer and Pizza.

Thanks

Joe
Old 04-07-2004, 04:44 PM
Contributing Member

I took on that job about 6 months ago on my '94. I am not too mechanically gifted but I have a degree (ha ha) so I figured how hard could it be??They're some great write ups out there on how to do it. Do a search and don't be afraid of scrapping some knuckles. It's pretty tight in there. Took me about 3 hours. You'll need a 20 inch rachett extension a swivel joint(really helps)and patience. Follow the write-ups, If I could do it, you can--believe me....
Old 04-07-2004, 05:52 PM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Joec500
Hey guys, I need to get my starter pulled so I can replace the Contacts/brushes in my starter. I was wondering if there is anyone here in the bay area who could pull this out for me and take care of this. I am just afraid that the Dealer would charge an arm and a leg for this type of work. I live on the peninsula, in the Palo Alto area. Or if someone could help me out I will provide Beer and Pizza.

Thanks

Joe
I would like to help if possible. I've no experience with starters but I've done a power steering pump and an alternator and belts on an 82 inline 6 cressida
Old 04-08-2004, 12:58 PM