Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Auto Trans Type and Should I Change Filter?

Old 02-13-2012, 11:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto Trans Type and Should I Change Filter?

I have a 2001 2wd 3.4 4Runner and I just saw there are two types of transmissions, can anyone tell me if I have the "F" or "E"? Also I see a lot of threads arguing about fluid type, can anyone confirm what type is best?

My main question is at 106K should I bother with the transmission filter? I bought a filter for my old Tacoma but never put it on because I thought I read somewhere that it was a waste of time or something, and then when you look at the filter itself I don't see how it could get clogged... but Im no expert.

Also, I was told by a Toyota tech at the dealership never to flush the transmission at high mileage because it puts too much pressure on the seals, he said to do a drain and fill, anyone agree with him?
Old 02-13-2012, 11:55 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Look on the side of the tranny for a tag like this:

I'd recommend doing this: http://home.centurytel.net/stevenjac...sh/tranny.html

I don't see how this type of flush would put any more pressure on the seals than just driving does. It just uses the transmission ATF pump to move the ATF.

Last edited by mt_goat; 02-13-2012 at 11:58 AM.
Old 02-13-2012, 12:01 PM

I thought the F was 4wd and the E was 2wd? I like that link, but I don't think its necessary to flush the system unless you have a bunch of crap in the pan. And if you have a bunch of crap in the pan you should prob concider rebuilding soon anyway.
Old 02-13-2012, 12:10 PM

Thanks mt_goat, I didn't know the transmission was tagged; just took a look and got the same tag you posted 30-40LE.

The thing about the flush is that like I said, it seems logical to me that you could put a lot of pressure on the seals and do damage, but I guess you don't agree?