Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

89 Pickup - Really Annoying Rattle - Help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 11:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 89 Pickup - Really Annoying Rattle - Help!

I've been enjoying this list as a vistor for a couple of months and would now like to ask for some help. There's a whole lot of expertise here.

I've got a 1989 Toyota Extra Cab Pickup, 22RE, 5-speed, 4wd, with 133,700 miles. I bought it in December from a woman biologist who had it in Denver, Colorado and Moab, Utah. The truck is very clean and runs very well. No rust. It's stock with 235/75R15 BFG All-Terrain tires and manual hubs.

I bought the truck for general use. Minimal off-roading. The usual suburban trips to Home Depot, the dump, furniture stores, etc. I'm hoping to do much more camping and mountain biking.

Overall, the truck is great. I've got one really annoying problem with the truck and I am hoping the brains on this list might have some suggestions.

The truck has a rattle. A really annoying rattle. This is a big rattle, more like a deep buzz. Did I mention it is really annoying?

I'm having lots of trouble tracking it down.
As near as I can tell, it:
1. Seems to be coming from under the dash, between the emergency brake and the firewall, and about that height.
2. Happens under acceleration, coasting, in neutral, or in gear.
3. Is much worse as the truck is cold and eventually goes completely away after 20-plus minutes.
4. Is intermittent. Happens for 5-20 seconds, goes away for 15-60 seconds or longer, etc.
5. Happens most under light acceleration. Also under light deceleration, like rolling up to a red light on the highway in gear at 50-30.
6. Is not dependent on engine speed.
7. Is not dependent on gear selected, including neutral.
8. Is not related to vehicle speed, though most prevalent at 15-45.
9. Is not the 5-speed shifter rattling. Don't think it is the 4wd shifter rattling.