Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

4WD not engaging

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2007, 01:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4WD not engaging

For starters, I'm a veteran BB user, and have already used the search function here. Found lots of info, but haven't found anyone with my specific setup and problem, so while this appears to be a redundant thread, understand that I am no noob. I tried posting on another thread, but have not received replies there, and it's fallen to the bottom of the list here (https://www.yotatech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94600). I'll keep it brief.

95.5 Tacoma, 2.7L, manual hubs & tranny, manual 4WD select, 231k miles. When shifting into H4, no indicator light, no power to front wheels. When shifting to L4, tranny gears down, no indicator light, no power to front wheels. Gearing down confirms linkage is intact. Locking the hubs spins the front drive shaft when the truck rolls, so I'm confident everything from the T-case forward is working properly. Local independent shop says entire T-case should be replaced ($2800 new!!!!, rebuilt T-case at $920 no longer available, no local salvage yard seems to have the right one). I've confirmed the shop did not remove or disassemble the T-case. They made their judgment from looking at the fluid which came out of it (which was admittedly in horrible condition). I'm looking for a second opinion or possible other causes.

Sounds like most of the time, these symptoms are the result of vacuum line issues. But for those whose problems were vacuum related, they either had ADD, or push-button 4WD select. From what I understand, in a fully manual 4WD system (manual hubs, manual 4WD select), vacuum plays no part in 4WD selection or engaging. Am I correct? If so, any ideas on what could be wrong? The truck is fully functional and seemingly problem free in 2WD.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by jdsdj98; 01-23-2007 at 01:24 PM.
Old 01-23-2007, 01:26 PM