95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

32X11.5 R15 tires

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2005, 03:30 PM
TPI

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
32X11.5 R15 tires

i dont know if have posted on the right forum but,

i got a 87 4runner lifted 3inches, with 32x11.5 dunlops, i heard you have to change the gearing when you lift or put bigger tires on, but when you change the gears arent you messing with the tranny gears as well?

i just got this truck and im learning lil by lil, i dont know if its stock gears how do i check?

that and its a slug on the highway, 70mph is all i can go unless i floor it to get past that it will go to 4k rpm....any help will do
Old 06-29-2005, 03:57 PM

Umm a few things I think are right... I'm no pro.

It is advised to change gearing so it mantains a proper ratio for optimal power.

The gears you change are in the axle, nothing to do with tranny.

With big tires your speedo reads wrong. http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/4LoCalc.shtml Check that out and you are really doing about 80.

Good luck, I should be running 32's very soon so give me imput on the ride quality and all.

Alex
Old 06-29-2005, 06:52 PM
TPI

im happy with the ride with 32" tires, i just dont like the slugness, but since there is no issue with changing the gears because of bigger tires, then im gonna find out if i have different gears or stock, i wisht there was a way if they been changed it, i bought the truck like that so i have no idea.

but it rides great, not alot of bounciness...
Old 06-30-2005, 02:10 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I find with the 32's that the ride quality is better due to the larger footprint.... As was mentioned - not as bouncy..... Gears should be changed to do 3 things 1) correct the speedo, 2) correct slugishness 3) correct your MPG.... Other than that you really don't need to change it...
Old 06-30-2005, 05:23 AM