Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

3.4L Spark plug/ignition coil problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 06:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3.4L Spark plug/ignition coil problem

I have been using this forum for the past 5 months and have found a ton of useful information. So let me start by saying thank you to everyone.

My wife has been driving our 95 Toyota T100, which has 180,000 miles, for the past few months with no problems. It only gets driven a couple times a week since it is our 3rd vehicle. About a week ago she had left the drive way and drove about a mile down the road but came back home. She said something was wrong and that the truck sounded horrible. I checked later in the evening and found that the ignition coil for the #5 cylinder was just hanging by the wires. The coil had melted the boot completely off. So I figured i was going to need to replace the coils, spark plugs, and wires. I needed to change the valve cover gaskets too, so this was just going to be an all day repair. I started on the passenger side, that was the side with the melted coil. I began taking out the coils and spark plugs and they were BAD. The coils were the original ones and the spark plugs were "Champions" that had a lot of corrosion.

Now this is were I have a BIG problem. There was no spark plug in the #5 cylinder. This is the same cylinder that had the melted coil. I have tried to put a new spark plug in, but I can't. The threads won't start/catch. I looked down in the spark plug well and it looks the same as the other cylinders. I don't know what to do besides take it to a shop. The truck never had a misfire or any hesitation. I don't know where an entire spark plug could have gone. I don't see any "fresh metal" to indicate that it had sheared off. I'm baffled.

Could it run with just the ignition coil in place?
Old 03-04-2013, 07:19 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Rtflbk