Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2003 4runner...the real story?

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2003, 02:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2003 4runner...the real story?

I currently have an fj60, but i'm seriously looking at the new 4Runner. The only thing I can't decide on is which engine to choose. Putting aside the bigger is better mentality for a second...is there really that much of a difference in 37 lb/ft of torque? Its obvious that the v8 will be better for towing, but right now I can't see myself needing to tow 5,000+ lbs all that often. The v6 has 2 distinct advantages that I see, 1) slightly better gas mileage and 2) the ability to select 2WD. However, I'm an off-roading newbie and so I pose this question to those of you with more knowledge in this area. What setup would you chose for getting into some moderate off-roading I'm looking at more of an expedition style vehicle rather than say a mudder or rockcrawler. I leave it open for you all, what are your thoughts/opinions...
Old 03-04-2003, 02:55 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome, ChuckB. IMHO, it's not the difference in the amount of torque that makes the V-8 more desirable, but where in the rev band it's made. The V-8 makes as much torque at 1,200 rpm as the V-6 does at it's peak @ ~ 3,400 rpm (from memory). Translation: Effortless power from the V-8. Add that the iron block 2UZ V-8 is a proven commodity, runs on regular vs. premium required for the aluminum block 1GR V-6, comes with a 5-speed tranny, the full-time 4WD driveline, lower 1-2-3 gears than the 4-speed tranny (better crawl ratio of 34 compared to the 4-speed 28) all for ~$800.