Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2000 4Runner Dies Randomly

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2017, 07:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 4Runner Dies Randomly

Hi all, this is my first time using a forum so please bear with me. I have a 2000 4Runner with 230,000 miles. Over the past few weeks it has been dying on me while driving. Usually it dies when I'm slowing down to stop at a light or already stopped and just idling. However, it has also died when I'm just driving at different speeds.... I've done some troubleshooting and I cleaned my throttle body, idle air control, and mass air flow sensor. That fixed the issue for a couple of days but then the problem returned. I checked the fuel pressure (which was a pain in the ass) and it was a bit lower than it should be. So I dropped the tank and replaced the fuel pump. Well that fixed the problem for about 20 minutes and then I'm right back where I started. It's also worth noting that I replaced the fuel filter less than six months ago. Oh yeah, it's not throwing up any codes either, no check engine light, nothing... I'm desperate haha please help!!!
Old 01-07-2017, 05:17 PM

Did you check the fuel filter again(even if you just replaced it) and fuel lines, It might be that you may have a clog. Worst case scenario, and god forbid, you maybe put diesel in it instead of gas(happens and it shows similar symptoms), but I would check all fuel lines first, only take a little to get clogged..
Old 01-07-2017, 05:54 PM