Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2000 4runner 4wd Limited No Power to VSV

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2016, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 4runner 4wd Limited No Power to VSV

Hi,
My name is Daniel. Newbie here on yotatech Got a 2000 4runner Limited 4WD.

Issue:
- 4WD not engaging

Symptoms:
- 4wd push button does not light up 4wd indicator lights
- 4wd doesn't engage on 4wd hi or light up 4wd indicator lights
- 4wd engages ONLY on 4wd low (also no 4wd indicator lights)

Troubleshooting:
- Tested 4wd push button. Continuity test passed.
- Checked vacuum lines going from manifold to VSV. Vacuum was good.
- Checked vacuum line going to reserve tank. Vacuum was good.
- Checked vacuum lines going down to the TC. Lines where in good shape, but NO vacuum!
- Unplugged vacuum lines going from VSV down to TC, but no air pressure coming out of VSV!
- Manually powered the VSV's while vehicle ON and both operated as should. I heard the air pushing out of the valves.
- Placed volt meter to both power plugs of the VSV and neither has power.

For now I seem understand why my 4wd is not engaging (no power to vsv).
This is as far as I got tonight.

From what I have read in several posts when the selector lever on the transfer case if moved into 4HI or 4LOW it trips a switch, which then supplies the power to the VSV. Then then that applies vacuum to the vacuum motor on the diff, the vacuum motor slides a slip collar into position locking the two shafts together on the passenger side of the diff, which then trips another switch that illuminates the dash lights and we have 4 wheel drive that we love so much! Based on my trouble shooting I believe my issue is at the first switch that is triggered by the selector lever, which is supposed to send power to the VSV.