Pre 84 Trucks (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Hurley's 1982 Toyota Trailblazer Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2012, 07:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hurley's 1982 Toyota Trailblazer Build Thread

Well ladies and gents,

I'm fairly new to the Toyota off road scene but have been lurking for quite some time here, finally registered a little while ago, and the chips fell into place and I picked up a 1982 Toyota Trailblazer. Don't know what it is? It's OK. I didn't either a month or two ago. But in the early 80's there were a couple of companies that decided Toyota Pick Ups were too sweet to be left alone. The most popular conversion (most know about) is the Trekker done by Winnebago. The Trailblazer is kind of a later cousin of that rig done by a company called Griffith. You can check out a brochure at the following link for a 1983 Trailblazer. Pretty cool.

http://www.ernestflores.net/hilux/

Also, some cool info on other conversions here: http://toyotatrekker.proboards.com/index.cgi

If anyone knows anything about the Griffith company feel free to chime in. So far all I can deduce is that they were based in Jacksonville, FL and the only other popular conversion they made were called Sunchasers out of the Celica. Not my flavor but apparently they did very well. Anyways, enough with the history lesson, here's my new project:

I just picked it up about two weeks ago and have been trying to figure out a ridiculous charging issue. New battery, battery terminals and leads, voltage regulator, alternator tests fine, starter is fine, connections are all great. Can't find anything that would be a huge drain. So after many an hour feeling like an idiot, I enlisted the help of ACC Toyota (it also helps that they're like 3 minutes from my house )

Hopes and dreams: