Pre 84 Trucks (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

'80 shortbed build

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2014, 04:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'80 shortbed build

Here's the truck as she currently sits. I've been over the body. There are a few dents, but nothing serious, and most important, no filler. Fixed the horn, and the seatbelts, but all three of the new ignition lock cylinders I've bought are wrong. No biggie, I'll just relocate the ignition switch. Here's why I'm posting this thread: I've always loved these trucks, but I'm no expert. What I want to build is a reliable driver, with mild upgrades. I don't do serious offroading, so a newer version of the stock 4x4 gear is acceptable to me, with the exception of lockers (which I understand are critical. Feel free to correct me there.) I can google everything, but I'm looking for some real world experience, and thoughts from the community. So, what should I seek out in terms of suspension, engine upgrades, etc.? How would y'all build it, if you were building a rock solid, daily driver, ranch truck?
Attached Thumbnails '80 shortbed build-notryonlydo.jpg  
Old 11-21-2014, 10:59 PM

Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts
Cool little truck and welcome to the forum! I'd say make sure everything is solid mechanically first like drivetrain, suspension, ect. If you are looking for a small lift I have heard good things about old man emu.
Old 11-22-2014, 06:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi avram, beautiful truck, and beautful bed! The toyota engineers designed this truck for just that, a rock solid ranch truck that can be used as a daily driver. Here is what I would do for some upgrades:

Engine:
Weber 32/36 carb with complete desmog for simplicity, fuel enconomy, a bit of performance too.
engnbldr 261 crawler cam for more power in the usable powerband (down low) *optional, you will probably need to re-jet the carb