Staging Area For Tech Article Submissions Got a tech article to submit? Post it here

Hidden CB for 2nd Gen Tacoma

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2012, 11:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Hidden CB for 2nd Gen Tacoma

Here's my CB install on my 2nd Gen Taco. I wanted it to be discreet and out of the way, but still functional.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

*I am not an expert or professional so I claim no responsibility for any damage or injury from anyone attempting this install. Please PM me with questions or feel free to leave civil feedback or comments.

Parts Used:

Cheap Old Cobra 19DX (or equivalent model/size)*
Relentless Antenna Hood Mount
Firestik II 4' Antenna: FS4-B
Firestik 9' Coax w/ FireRing: K8-R9
Firestik Stud Mount: K-4
Firestik Heavy-Duty Spring: SS-3H (en route)
Cobra External Speaker: HG-S300
PL259 Right Angle Adapter
10" 4-Pin Mic. Extension
14 AWG Wire - approx. 30 ft. (2 colors)
(2) 1/2" Ring Terminals
Inline Fuse Holder

Tool Used:

Wire Cutters / Crimpers
Ratchet and sockets
Crescent wrench(s)
Screwdrivers (long ones and stubby ones)
Soldering Iron (or butt connectors)

Drill with 1/2" bits and smaller
Dremel with assorted bits
Needle nose pliers
Heat Shrink Tubing
Zip-Ties
Plastic conduit
Electrical Tape
Sandpaper / Files
6-Pack of your favorite beer
LIGHT!!!

*My used Cobra 19DX from the '80s crapped out on me during the last trip. I replaced it with a new Cobra 19 DX IV. The only downside is I can't see the little back-lit LCD when it's mounted in the original location. I have to tilt it forward to see the screen....oh well. Just a heads up to anyone with that (or equivalent) CB.

Step 1:

Disconnect the battery!!!

Tear your interior apart: seat, lower dash, center console....everything. I don't care how you do it, just get it done.

Honestly, it's not that difficult.

Remove the seat and unplug the harness underneath.

Center Console:
Pull up on the cup-holder basin to remove it.