General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Auxiliary fuse boxes

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2015, 11:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auxiliary fuse boxes

I have a 1995 Toyota Pickup, extended cab, 5 speed, 22RE, manual locks, windows, with AC.
Long story short I have my whole interior torn out because I am repairing my cab harness. I have two extra stock fuse blocks that hold four fuses each, they mount to the stock fuse box. This is my first time adding any auxiliary fuses for accessories.

I do not know what gauge wire I need to wire each fuse block, fuse block to circuit breaker, and fuse block to relay. I will be using 10 gauge for everything else.
Attached Thumbnails Auxiliary fuse boxes-img_1807.jpg   Auxiliary fuse boxes-img_1812.jpg  

Last edited by 5280jo; 06-29-2015 at 11:39 PM.
Old 07-01-2015, 03:16 PM

Received 70 Likes on 58 Posts
It all depends what accessories you want to run off those fuse blocks. Could be 12 to 18 gauge, depending on the length of run and amp draw

http://www.sunforceproducts.com/Supp...ctionTable.pdf
Old 07-01-2015, 09:09 PM

Thank you very much Lons81. I have put in a good week of research into this. Everything i have read has a a pre built fuse block with some kind of stamped circuit. I am starting from scratch.
Excuse the multiple questions but I am very unsure and do not want to burn my truck down.

Each block will have 4 fuses 20 amps each max, I am wanting to install a 80 amp or a 100 amp breaker in the first circuit between the block and battery. Constant power so each accessory with be fused and switched, the wire from the fuse block to the breaker will be about 6 feet long.

Second circuit will be wired to ignition accessory power, 4 fuses, 20 amps max each. I am unsure of what amperage fuse to use between the relay and battery.