Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

What size starter do I need

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2016, 10:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What size starter do I need

Hello, I'm a newbie and I am rebuilding a 1993 4runner. I am going to buy a reman starter while the engine is out. I don't want to fool with replacing it later since getting to it was a pain. I don't know if I need a 1.4V or a 1.6V...I don't know what the difference is besides size. I am thinking that I should just get the bigger one but want to make sure that it won't hurt. It is a 4X4 with an automatic transmission. Thanks.
Old 11-25-2016, 12:21 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

If you have your original starter your much better off to rebuild it yourself or have it done.

Rebuild quality at the bigger chains has really gone down hill

Life time warranties are fine but it gets old after exchanging 5 starters or more

The 1.6kw starters are for the auto Transmission or the cold weather manual transmission option if you have the 22R series engine

Both are the same Physical size the 1.6 KW has more output
Old 11-25-2016, 12:54 PM

Great thanks...I have been debating rebuilding it. I took it out of the old engine and the engine must have sat for awhile. This thing is covered in oil and gunk. I was going to take it to a local shop to have them test it to see if it is in working order...if so I can just rebuild it. Like I said I just want to be done with it so I don't have to mess with it later. It looks like a major pain to remove it.
Old 11-25-2016, 04:40 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post