Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Looking at truck bad clutch

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 07:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking at truck bad clutch

So I am new here to YotaTech and I am looking at a 1987 Toyota pickup. It is pretty beat up but still runs like a champ except for the clutch is wearing out. I am new to driving manuals but I really want one. Should I keep looking have my mechanic look at it or try and get it fixed? I am on a high school student budget.
Old 02-16-2017, 07:44 PM

Received 62 Likes on 57 Posts
Clutches themselves aren't that bad if you can do it yourself. But if your paying for it prices can vary. Get some bids and read some write ups. The biggest time hang up for me was waiting for my flywheel to be ground.
Old 02-16-2017, 08:20 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You said you're new to manuals. Are you sure it's just the clutch wearing out? What is it doing? How many miles, which engine and how much is the guy asking for it? It may not be the deal you're looking for. We can probably give you a little better advice with this info.
Old 02-16-2017, 08:22 PM

Originally Posted by Charchee
You said you're new to manuals. Are you sure it's just the clutch wearing out? What is it doing? How many miles, which engine and how much is the guy asking for it? It may not be the deal you're looking for. We can probably give you a little better advice with this info.
I haven't actually driven the truck myself i have just talked to the owner. It has 240,000 miles asking around 1,800. And It is a 4 cylinder engine.
Old 02-17-2017, 01:53 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Your words " my Mechanic "

Caused the red flags to go up!!

If your paying to get everything done this will be an expensive project till all the neglected areas are caught up .

Unless this is being bought as a project and learning experience

Best of luck
Old 02-17-2017, 04:12 AM
Super Moderator
Staff