Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Will an 88 4Runner fuel tank fit an 89 PickUP?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2014, 02:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will an 88 4Runner fuel tank fit an 89 PickUP?

My fuel tank is leaking. I have a chance to buy a complete fuel tank from a 1988 4runner. I have done some research and it seems it will fit. That my old dependable truck and a picture of the fuel tank. I'm a Sculptor not a mechanic so I need some help from you experts. I have added a picture of my fuel tank. Looks nearly the same to me. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Will an 88 4Runner fuel tank fit an 89 PickUP?-50-.jpg   Will an 88 4Runner fuel tank fit an 89 PickUP?-tft.jpg   Will an 88 4Runner fuel tank fit an 89 PickUP?-p1010001.jpg  

Last edited by thesculptor; 06-26-2014 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Add a picture
Old 06-26-2014, 02:27 PM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
On that truck you might could make it fit. The fill neck and vent tubes are oppisite of each other on the runner and trucks, but since the body/ bed isnt in the way it might. Otherwise no they are not interchangeable.
Old 06-26-2014, 02:41 PM

Fuel Tank.

Originally Posted by thesculptor
My fuel tank is leaking. I have a chance to buy a complete fuel tank from a 1988 4runner. I have done some research and it seems it will fit. That my old dependable truck and a picture of the fuel tank. I'm a Sculptor not a mechanic so I need some help from you experts. I have added a picture of my fuel tank. Looks nearly the same to me. Thanks
Thanks for that quick response. Now that you have seen my tank do you think they are very similar? TKS
Old 06-26-2014, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator
Staff

For a guess, I would think you could make it work, but it is just a guess.
Old 06-29-2014, 05:24 AM

No other opinion?

Well I'm picking up the tank in the morning. No other opinions on this? Thanks