Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Timing Issue / TDC / Valve adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2016, 05:17 PM

Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
Timing Issue / TDC / Valve adjustment

Need some help guys. I'm not a total newbie to the 22RE, but I'm no mechanic either. I rebuilt this engine in 2012 and it's been running fine. It still does as a matter fact, but I can't get the timing set correctly. I need to get the timing done prior to going for my Cali smog test. I thought I fixed it after adjusting my valves, but when I checked it again this morning I'm still off, but not as much anymore.

Here's a little history:

I couldn't get my timing set, I was showing about 40 BTDC jumpered and 30 BTDC without the paper clip plugged in. I spent morning to evening focused on the TPS but got nowhere. I have 3 used TPS and swapping them did nothing. All three idle down when jumpered.

Next morning I adjust my rockers and bam! I'm spot on with my timing again. My rockers were waaayyy out of spec. Those that should have been tight at TDC were loose and likewise when I did the full rotation to do the others...both intake and exhaust were out of spec. The worse was the #4 piston exhaust side. I'm running an engnbldr 268 cam and have it set at 7 and 10. They recommend 7 and 9.

Today I check the timing again before I go off to get smogged. And now I'm at about 25 BTDC and about 14 jumpered. I checked my valve settings again and they were the same way I set them.