Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Things to look for when buying a 90-95 truck

Old 09-28-2012, 11:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Things to look for when buying a 90-95 truck

Hello all,

New member here!

I've been reading here for a few days and I must say, there's so much info I get lost a bit!

I've tried searching for this, but I didn't see so please pardon me if this answer exists already, point me in the right direction and i'll gladly read-on!

Here it is:

I'm looking into fulfilling a long dream of mine of having a toyota pickup. The years i'm interested in are 90-95, 4x4, ext cab.

I'm totally new to toyota's. Obviously I know that a bad frame is a problem (are there specific things to check for?, specific spots?).

I don't plan on going offroading too hard-core, but I like the lifted look.

I have a slight preference for the 22re based on some research i've done.

With all that, i've got a choice between buying an already restored or buying one that's at a good starting point.

Any recommendations, tips, stuff to watch for, stuff to avoid, any and all info is welcomed!

thanks for reading and happy trails!

Marc
Old 09-28-2012, 02:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
For starters, avoid the auto-hubs and auto trannys (gives you bad mileage and NO guts)... Most people don't like the 3VZ, but as long as the headgasket has been done recently you should be fine!

Also, check for rust in the usual areas (even though 90-95 is still pretty new) such as the cab corners, bed, etc...
Old 09-28-2012, 03:55 PM

Thanks! Good point on the auto-hubs. Were those available all years?

I'm assuming they can be retro-fitted if that's the only problem.

As far as the 3VZ is concerned, are leaky heads the only issue? If so, not so bad as you've said, as long as they've been done. Not sure how hard that is to do.

Marc
Old 09-28-2012, 04:13 PM

Originally Posted by Aramis