Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Squeezing the life out of an engine on it way out?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2008, 07:45 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Squeezing the life out of an engine on it way out?

Just looking for opinions...Sorry about the novel

Well heres the situation, I'm a broke student for about a month and a broke electrician after that for about two months while I pay back loans and tame the credit cards. And my head gasket has been going since I bought the truck about a year ago. (I know I was an idiot for buying it, but I never knew.)
My main symtpoms have been steam out the tail pipe and runnier oil. Both the coolant and oil are good as far as color goes. But it is getting runnier faster these days it seems. I change the oil about every two months now just to get that runny crap out for a while, basicly to buy me some time. I just switched back from synthetic because it exposed the old leaks.

Dont get me wrong the truck runs great expecially right now since it had it's valves adjusted and new plugs and wires, but...Lately I noticed there is smoke coming out my exaust more then usual, but the same thing seemed to happen last summer, and it dident really do it untill it hit the 30 c (86 f) mark this year. So maybe it's just the heat..
I also have a problem with a rod bearing on the way out, according to my mechanic.

I also cant stop driving to school and work, so I feel like I am in a catch 22 (-re lol) and have to end up driving my truck till it dies; Or till I can afford to do some major stuff. Which ever comes first.

Since a new head gasket will be over a grand installed, and that doesent even adress the other problems, I'm basicly saving for a new engine. My plan is to get at least money saved for a stock motor, but if the truck is still running good keep saving for one of the LCE beuties or something similar.