86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

And so it begins...Auto to Manual transmission swap on 93 3.0 4 runner

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2006, 07:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
And so it begins...Auto to Manual transmission swap on 93 3.0 4 runner

Working out the last minute details right now. Going to get all my crap together and into the garage. Man I have never done anything this involved before. I'm a little nervous and anxious to get going. I put the clutch pedal and master cylinder in a few weeks ago. Here I go....
Old 04-06-2006, 07:50 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
there was something about the length of the input shaft being different - didyou get that worked out?
Old 04-06-2006, 09:13 AM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'll be checking this post... it's a project I've thought of doing, although not any time soon...
Old 04-06-2006, 10:21 AM

Be sure to post pics. I'd like to see that clutch pedal already.
Old 04-07-2006, 07:06 AM

Here are the 2 pedals side by side. Left is the new pedal assembly with the clutch pedal. Right is the old brake pedal for the auto.

This is the view underneath the console of the auto brake pedal bracket. You can see the holes where the clutch master will go and I used these to drill the holes before I took the bracket out. 1 1/4" for the center hole and 3/8" for the bolt holes. The holes in the bracket are a little bit bigger than the holes you need to drill though. And I had to do a little bit of dremel work moving my center hole over so that everything lined up. In all it took about 1 1/2 hours getting the clutch master and pedal assembly in.

View of the drilled hole from the engine bay

View of the pedal bracket and clutch master in but not attached to the pedal
[View of everything hooked up under the console