Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

SAS'ing 1st Gen 4Runner to stock height?

Old 11-20-2011, 08:08 PM

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
SAS'ing 1st Gen 4Runner to stock height?

So I'm new to Toyota's and have decided that the 1st gen 4Runner is what I'm looking for. I want to build one to be a daily city driver during the week (must clear parking garage clearances) and a hauler for my mountain biking and ski gear on the weekends.

I've always been a solid front axle guy and don't plan on adopting IFS now - as good as I'm sure Toyota's built them.

So my challenge is... 1985 turns out to be the only year 4runner that fits my criteria (EFI and solid axle). And I'm looking for something I can build back to being as clean as new inside and out. As you all know 85's are hard to come by, finding them unmolested and unlifted is even harder.

So that brings me to my question... how difficult is it to SAS an 86+ 4Runner to stock height? It seems everything I'm seeing involves a lift at the same time.

I plan on putting a good deal of cash into restoring the running gear and fully redoing the interior. I'm not sure I'll have enough left over to cover a SAS too.

Does this make sense or should I continue to hold out for the 85 i seek?

Last edited by stanz; 11-20-2011 at 08:09 PM.
Old 11-20-2011, 08:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
things changed from live axle to ifs such as track width grew wider with ifs and front wheel travel went down with ifs. from what i see ifs sits a little lower than stock solid axle too- saw that a while ago with my 88 parked next to an 85.

it may be cheaper overall to install lsd's or lockers on an ifs truck than try to convert it to stock type solid axle and youd get better performance on the rough that way since stock solid axle won't have lockers.

as for clearing garages, my 88 now has a 4 inch lift and is about 6' tall with 265-75-16 tires so clears most if not all of them.