86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

rust spots/ rust hole

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2009, 10:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rust spots/ rust hole

arite im kinda new to rust repair but i do know that rust isnt good and needs to be fixed before getting worse.

iv got a question about some rust spots on my 90 4runner. now these spots are just chips and only on driver side. most are the the size of a pea. they appear to be surface chips from maybe rocks hitting from cars driving by. iv got quite a few and some are getting bigger. the question i have is what can i do to stop them from getting bigger? cause one day i may decide to fix the rest of the runner but i dont want more rust than i have to fix. these if i could seal up or prevent form getting deeper and bigger would be nice.

what i thought to do for the spots would be sand them down to baremetal and paint them with something. iv never done auto body paint but to me it would be the same as painting anythign else. do i just spray the bare metal or would i have to put some cheap primer down first? cheap isnt the word i guess but a primer form spray can or something.

the other question i have is what is that dogleg for, on the front of the rear wheel well. i believe thats what its called. i read somewhere that it just causes dirt to get behind it and holds mosisture causeing it to rot. does it just cover a seam where the sheet metal comes together? cause i plan on fixing it eventually with more sheet metal possibly or even fiberglass, although id prefer metal. if i could get away from having it at all it may help. im a little worried about removing them cause mine are quite rusty underneath, and i dont know if ill be able to put it back on later if i do need it.