86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Replacing the tranny questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2010, 09:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing the tranny questions

...in my '87 pickup 22re 4x4 x-cab auto, and every went well headed back from about 1hr away. I go to take it to grab some food about 2hrs later and now it slips bad going into 1st and has a rough idle when my foot's on the break and just sitting at a red light. I can put it into nuetral and it runs normally.

So, I'm not a mechanic but I'm guessing the tranny's screwed. Once I'm driving it shifts fine up and down through the gears but revs to almost 3k to 5-10mph and then starts driving normally. I thinking this means time to put some time into looking for a replacement trans and having another one thrown in.

3 questions...

Anyone know the cost in replacing the trans? (The trucks worth maybe $1500 total)

Where is the part number on the trans? (A340H or A340F or whatever)

and finally, should I even bother? (Maybe just get rid of it and start again with a taco, if I could find a 4x4 that is)
Old 07-24-2010, 09:19 PM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Edit: Correction....yours is A340H. Yeah, troubleshoot it first before you condemn it. It may not be the transmission. Unless, you're just itching to replace it, anyway.

Last edited by thook; 07-24-2010 at 09:29 PM.
Old 07-24-2010, 09:23 PM

Originally Posted by thook
Those numbers are for 3vze trannys.

I'm no transmission guy, but you might be having a problem with something else. It's worth doing a little more research before you condemn the transmission.
Gotcha. What else should I look for and where is the part number located for the trans I have?
Old 07-24-2010, 09:33 PM

Hey......sorry about that. Had my models and years confused. I made the correction. Look here........

http://www.usatransdoctor.com/foreigntoyota.htm