Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

regulator? alternator? battery..need help

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2013, 07:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy regulator? alternator? battery..need help

Ok , first of all, Im relatively new to older Toyotas and 22re's, AND understanding electronics has always been difficult for me to do. So, bear with me.
I have a 1992 22RE, 4x4, AT, DLX. 200k+ miles. My voltage has always been kinda low and changed with the RPM's, but not too awful bad. I figured the alternator was on its way to check out , and never really worried about it. Over the last week, as some of you may know, the weather here has been cold, reaching single digits at night. So this morning, I went out and started the truck, slower starting due to temp, but started right up nonetheless. After a minute or 2, I had pretty lights on my dash. The 'brake', 'A/T Temp' , and 'eng' lights all came on. I immediatley thought the alternator finally quit, and put my foot on the gas expecting it to increase the voltage like normal.
Funny thing happened next, I had the lights on as it was cloudy out, the headlights got so bright I thought theyd pop, lol. I heard a click and now headlights ONLY dont turn on, I figure its a fuse or the headlight relay (not worried about that too much), all other lights work. The aftermarket stereo would shut off at higher rpm's . So I drove it about 10-15 miles, thinking maybe the battery was so cold, charging it would help....?
At lower rpm, idle, its normal, but when it reaches about 1500-2000 rpm, all the lights come on again.
Came home, let it sit for a while, tried it again, same thing. I checked voltage at battery. While off the battery reads app 12.5 v. While idling, 13.3-14. But when I revved the throttle a little bit, the voltage went up to 16v+! Jumped in the seat, checked it again, lights came on also at the same approx rpm (no tach have to guess) at about 2000.