86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rebuilding my Hydrolocked engine...

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 06:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rebuilding my Hydrolocked engine...

I hydrolocked my engine a while back (August 09) and I finally have the loot to get my 89 4runner "running" again.. Ive decided to go with an engine from Titanengines because I have no experience rebuilding an engine and I dont wanna mess this up. After taking my engine out and removing the oil pan I saw the carnage which was a destroyed connecting rod and some other bracing part that I dont know the name of. Pics below..

Carnage..

heres the picture of the broken "bracing" part thats i dont know the name of..any takers? The brake is at the left rear of the picture..

Now im just waiting for Monday to contact Titan to ask what parts i will need to remove from my engine to be installed on the new one they will send me. I will also be removing and installing as many new parts as financially possible to ensure a worry free powerplant. Any tips and advice welcomed.. Ive also aquired a parts truck (84 4runner 22r) that was a 5speed and had an extra tranny and 5 speed in the bed. It got me thinking of doing a dual transfercase set up basically just for s n giggles because theres no crawling going on down here in Miami but just for the cool factor..lol Maybe at hardrock 4x4..this 4x4 park up by Ocala National Forest. heres some pics of that..

Below a link to my youtube vidz of what I call..the donor funeral..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_sZiGvXPes
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFcJ8...eature=related
So obviously I will be doing a SAS later on after I get the truck running and i plan on running 38's. A buddy of mine and I are pondering links but Im still leaning towards leafs for simplicity, durability and cheapness..

Last edited by StangBanger; 05-09-2010 at 04:01 PM. Reason: Added 2 videos