86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

rebuild warrantee question

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2012, 07:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rebuild warrantee question

I have a 87 runner with a 22re. I pulled the motor, had it rebuilt last summer and replaced it myself...I'm not a real mechanic, just a fool who likes to pretend sometimes. After replacing a handful of electronic components, it has been running sweet. I have about 4,000 miles on it since the build.

It has a small leak in the oil pan gasket, but that is a sorry story and is my fault. so, it does loose a little oil. I checked it yesterday and it was actually a little lower than I expected.

Yesterday, I noticed a puddle of oil below/ behind the exhaust manifold. A qick look around and it appeared to be seeping from between the head and the block. A little baby powder and running it a spell confimed this.

The shop that did the rebuild said that they would only warantee it (3 years, 30,000) if I used their contracted (and insured) parts and gaskets. The gaskets were all safety brand (are these bad?). It has been less than a year and obviously much less than 30,000 miles. The shop said they would only cover what they completed. The do not do R&Rs and do not cover the costs to do them.

But, shoot, I really don't want to have to pull the whole motor again just so they can fix this leak. I'm more inclined to just do the head gasket myself. BUt that sure sucks. I wonder, am I entitled to anything here? I only paid about $1000 for the rebuild...can I just ask for a fricken refund? That amount would cover me having a shop do it so I don't have to waste time on this anymore....I want to do other things to my truck with my time and money!!

I'm calling the shop tomorrow and intend to express dissapointment...but I wonder if anyone on here has some advice as to what I should expect and/or demand?
Old 04-29-2012, 07:52 PM