86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rear Suspension Setup

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 05:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Suspension Setup

I am still trying to learn the best set up for the rear end of my 95 4Runner 4x4and am looking for some more advice.

When I first bought the truck, I replaced all the springs with Gabriel shocks.. nothing special or lifted, just OEM replacement style... THEN, I started to address the rear end sag....As I have been asking about coil recommendations, I have failed to ask how the shock length or travel plays a part........I am simply looking to level the truck out and hope I dont have to change anything else and take steps backwards.
Can anyone help out on this....?
As a fresh newbie, I could use part #'s, links, anything you can throw at me...

I guess my fault in this is not asking ENOUGH of the question... Everyone has been really helpful on here but most I get info from are so knowledgable and have been doing it so long, they may not account that I have no idea what I am dealing with.. New to Southern California so I still havent found a mechanice I trust or feel comfortable with.. THe one and only time I tried that, I had a small oil leak....$500 later, I had new valve covers and still have a leak... so I Am hesitant to "drop it off" at a local shop...

Thanks for listening........
Old 07-07-2008, 07:08 PM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Since you bought stock length shocks, that will make no difference in the ride height. What I mean is shocks don't provide any lift for a vehicle. They aren't designed to. They're secondary to the springs....which provide ride height...in function and only buffer shocks to the suspension. If you bought shocks that were too long or too short, that might make a difference when you think abou t it.